Expert Guidance at

Canada's Mining University

Meet the experts that form the Goodman School of Mines Advisory Board

The International Advisory Board to the Executive Director of the Goodman School of Mines provides high-level strategic advice relating to and ensuring the long-term goals and success of the School. The Advisory Board and its members provide insights, ideas and resources to assist the School in developing strategic initiatives to advance the well-being of society through excellence in teaching, research and service, to exploit the rapidly changing needs of the mining industry, and to foster closer ties between the School and its constituents.


The International Advisory Board consists of 8-15 members who are representative of external stakeholders. External members are appointed to a renewable 3-year term by the Executive Director of the Goodman School of Mines after consultation with the Executive Director of Advancement. A permanent seat is provided for an appointee by the Goodman family. The Executive Director of the Goodman School of Mines, the directors of schools and departments delivering programs related to mining education (engineering, earth sciences, management, and indigenous programs) and the Executive Director of University Advancement are ex-officio members of the advisory board.

Role of the Advisory Board:

  • Provide advice regarding new initiatives and long-range goals, to more effectively respond to the emerging needs of the mining industry.
  • Review currency of programming and research agendas, providing perspective on expectations of graduates and emerging mining challenges, and offer feedback on existing programs and research.
  • Advocate for the School (within industry, relevant government agencies, professional societies, etc.), actively opening new avenues of community engagement, collaboration, research and knowledge dissemination.
  • Promote the School publicly, through sharing an understanding of the School and its programs and celebrating its achievements.
  • Serve as a communications bridge and “think tank” to connect the School with other sectors of the community and animate a dynamic exchange of ideas so that the School may best contribute to the changing needs of the mining industry and those working in it.
  • Develop good relations between the School and the larger mining community and relate the priorities and concerns of that community to the School.
  • Aid the School in its efforts to secure the resources required to be globally competitive in attracting and retaining excellent faculty, staff and students.
  • Individually partner with the School as guest lecturers, seminar participants, career advisors, etc.
  • Use personal contacts to enable faculty and students to gain workplace exposure, with a particular focus on emerging trends and practices.
  • Annually review and provide advice to the Executive Director with regard to the expenditure of undesignated private sector gifts and endowment disbursements.

Advisory Board Members

Ned Goodman

Dundee Corporation

Jonathan Goodman

Chairman and CEO,
Dundee Corporation

Dominic Channer

Vice President, Community Relations
Kinross Gold

Fred Delabbio

Strategy Focused Innovation Pty Ltd

Robert Friedland

Executive Chairman and Founder,
Ivanhoe Mines

David Harquail

President, CEO and Director
Franco-Nevada Corporation

Greg Huffman

Managing Director, Canadian Equity Sales, Mining
Canaccord Genuity Group Inc.

Paul Parisotto

Noront Resources

Rachel Pineault

Vice-President Human Resources and Sustainability
Treasury Metals Inc.

Shastri Ramnath

Co-Founder, Executive Chair
Orix Geosciences Inc.

Ex-Officio Members

Nadia Mykytczuk

Executive Director, Goodman School of Mines
Laurentian University

Michel Delorme

Dean, Faculty of Management,
Laurentian University

Sandra Dorman

Full Professor, Faculty of Health
Director, Centre for Research in Occupational Safety and Health
Laurentian University

Tracy MacLeod

Chief Advancement Officer,
Laurentian University

Dominic Beaudry

Associate Vice-President, Academic and Indigenous Programs
Laurentian University

Eric R. Gauthier

Director, School of Biological, Chemical and Forensic Sciences
Laurentian University

Ramesh Subramanian

Director and Professor, Bharti School of Engineering
Laurentian University

Pedro Jugo

Director, Harquail School of Earth Sciences
Laurentian University